2015 UMW Award Winners

Charles Coleman Memorial Service Award

Charles Coleman was an employee of 29 years who demonstrated pride, dedication, and loyalty throughout his many years of service. This award was established in honor of his dedication and exemplary service.

The 2015 Coleman Award Winner is Cathy Byram, Office Manager – English, Linguistics, and Communication Department.

 Richard V. and Rosemary A. Hurley Presidential Commendation

The intent of this award is to honor Mr. and Mrs. Hurley, who have consistently demonstrated a desire to recognize and reward outstanding service of University employees, and who have led by example in their work at Mary Washington.

The 2015 Hurley Award Winner is Martha Burtis, Director of Digital Knowledge, Division of Teaching and Learning Technologies.


Staff Advisory Council’s Larry Atkins Award

The Staff Advisory Council recognizes UMW employees who are the unsung heroes of our offices.  Larry Atkins was one of the first employees to receive the S.A.C. “We Couldn’t Do it Without You Award,” which has since been renamed in his memory.

This year’s S.A.C. Larry Atkins Award Winners are:


2015 Nominees include:

S.A.C. Larry Atkins Nominees   Charles Coleman Nominees   Hurley Award Nominees
 Cathy Byram Martha Burtis (3)
 Timmy Wallace  Allyson Moerman
Kathy Sandor Joni Wilson (2)
 Sallie Braxton
 Bethany Friesner