University Recognition Awards

Each fall, through the presentation of 3 awards, the University of Mary Washington recognizes employees who provide exemplary service to the University.  These employees are nominated by other members of the University Community.  Award winners are announced at the annual Fall Luncheon.  The deadline for submitting nominations for the awards is 5 p.m. on Friday, September 6, 2019.

  • Richard V. and Rosemary A. Hurley Presidential Commendation : The intent of this award is to honor Mr. and Mrs. Hurley, who consistently demonstrated a desire to recognize and reward outstanding service of University employees, and who have led by example in their work at Mary Washington.  The benefactors of the award are Elmer and Marceline Weatherly Morris, Class of 1950. Eligibility for this award is open to UMW employees, with preference for administrative / professional faculty members.
  • Charles Coleman Memorial Service Award: Charles Coleman was an employee of 29 years who demonstrated pride, dedication, and loyalty throughout his many years of service. This award was established in honor of his memory and exemplary service.  All classified and hourly employees with at least 5 years of continuous employment are eligible for the award; nominations are accepted from supervisor nominations.
  •  Staff Advisory Council’s Larry Atkins Staff Awards :  The Staff Advisory Council recognizes UMW employees who are the unsung heroes of our offices.  Larry Atkins was one of the first employees to receive the S.A.C. “We Couldn’t Do it Without You Award,” which has since been renamed in his memory. Any administrative faculty, wage, and/or classified employee may be nominated. Three UMW employees will be selected (one from each of the above classifications).

The deadline for submitting nominations for the awards is 5:00 pm on Friday, September 6, 2019. The winners will be announced at the Fall Luncheon.

See the list of all past award recipients.

For questions on these nomination processes, please contact Terri Arthur ( regarding the Coleman and Hurley awards or Charles Tate ( about the Atkins award.

Thank you!